Connect with us


‘Smile Didi, you are in a democracy’, say posters welcoming Mamata Banerjee to Delhi



Posters, with tongue-in-cheek messages, welcoming West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee popped up at several places in Delhi as Banerjee landed in the Capital on Tuesday to participate in an Opposition rally.

“Didi, smile to your heart’s content, you are in a democracy”, read a message in Hindi on one of the hoardings that also featured caricatures of West Bengal chief minister and have been put up by an organisation known as Youth For Democracy. The slogans clearly take a dig at Banerjee for different political developments in her state in the recent past.

The hoardings could be seen on central Delhi’s Jantar Mantar road, Banga Bhawan (on Hailey Road) and Windsor Palace Circle Area.

With just a few months to go for the Lok Sabha elections, Banerjee is in Delhi to participate in the ‘Tanashahi Hatao, Loktantra Bachao’ rally of the Aam Aadmi Party almost a month after she organized a similar show of strength in Kolkata.

Another hoarding read, “Didi no one is going to prevent you from addressing people here”, in obvious reference to the controversy stirred by permissions denied to several Bharatiya Janata Party leaders for holding events in West Bengal, forcing Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath to telephonically address the people gathered in South Dinajpur for his rally.

Last month, there was a row between the BJP and the Mamata Banerjee government over a landing spot for BJP president Amit Shah’s helicopter ahead of his rally in Malda. Permission was also initially denied for the much-publicised rath yatras of Shah

Yet another hoarding read,” Welcome to Delhi, where democracy is alive and kicking, Didi.” The BJP has often accused Banerjee of stifling democracy in West Bengal, with the latest showdown being over the CBI’s move to investigate Kolkata top cop Rajiv Kumar over a failed Ponzi scheme. A BJP leader and union minister Giriraj Singh even compared her with North Korean leader Kim Jong-un.

Bengal is crucial in the BJP’s plan for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls and the party has set itself a target of 22 seats in the state. The party which currently holds two seats in the state, has been bolstered with a number of senior Trinamool Congress leaders joining it.



‘Today another love letter has arrived…’ Arvind Kejriwal said on LG’s letter



Representational Image | Image Source: Arvind Kejriwal (Twitter)

The feud between Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena is not taking the name of diminishing. On Friday, Kejriwal had said that his wife did not write as much love letters as he did in the last 6 months, as much as the LG scolded him. At the same time, today again Kejriwal tweeted and said that today the love letter has come again.

Arvind Kejriwal tweeted and said that today another love letter has arrived. In fact, today a six-page letter has been sent to CM Kejriwal by LG VK Saxena. In another tweet, Kejriwal wrote, “BJP is hell-bent on destroying the lives of the people of Delhi through LG. Every day these people create a ruckus about something or the other. I assure the people of Delhi – as long as your son Is alive, don’t worry. I won’t let your hair get messy.

On Friday, Delhi CM had tweeted about LG VK Saxena, “LG Saheb scolds me as much as my wife does not scold me as much. In the last 6 months, LG Sahib has written me as many love letters as my whole life. I didn’t write to my wife.LG sir, chill a bit.

And tell your super boss too, chill a little.” Kejriwal had also targeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi without naming him. He is constantly alleging that LG VK Saxena is working on PM Modi’s behest and AAP government. causing obstacles in the work of.

Source: Aajtak

Continue Reading


12 Rajya Sabha MPs suspended for ‘violent behaviour’ in previous Parliament session



File | Source : Krishi Jagran

12 Opposite MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the remainder of the Winter Session because of ‘uncontrollable conduct’ during the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

The authority notice said, “This House takes cognizance and firmly sentences the absolute negligence to the power of the Chair, complete maltreatment of rules of the House steadily accordingly wilfully hindering the matter of House through their exceptional demonstrations of offense, derisive, rowdy and fierce conduct and purposeful assaults on security workforce on the last day of 254th Session of Rajya Sabha for example August 11.”


1. Elamaram Kareem (CPM)

2. Phulo Devi Netam (INC)

3. Chhaya Verma (INC)

4. Ripun Bora (INC)

5. Binoy Viswam (CPI)

6. Rajamani Patel (INC)

7. Dola Sen (TMC)

8. Shanta Chhetri (TMC)

9. Syed Nasir Hussain (INC)

10. Priyanka Chaturvedi (Shiv Sena)

11. Anil Desai (Shiv Sena)

12. Akhilesh Prasad Singh (INC)

Because of consistent interruptions and intermissions as the Opposition fought over the Pegasus sneaking around line and the three ranch laws, the Monsoon Session of Parliament finished two days sooner than what was planned for August.

On the last day of the meeting, Opposition MPs purportedly jumped on the authorities’ table, waved dark material and tossed records when the House started a conversation on ranchers’ dissent against new change laws. They likewise purportedly mauled the security staff

Notwithstanding, the Opposition affirmed that their MPs were messed up by the security faculty.

Following this, Rajya Sabha executive Venkaiah Naidu and Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla had chosen to embrace a definite assessment of such rowdy scenes previously and the future game-plan in such cases.

Continue Reading


Navjot Singh Sidhu resigns as Punjab Congress chief



Navjot Singh Sindhu who had been appointed President of Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee on 23rd July had resigned from the party. This incident just took place just before Punjab’s former prime minister Amarinder Singh came on a visit to Delhi. In his letter after resignation he mentioned he might have resigned as a President but he cares about the welfare of the people of Punjab and he will continue to serve Congress.

Continue Reading


Enter your email address to get latest updates



Copyright © 2018 - 2022 Delhi Wire.